Contribute – Open:Source:Polity

August 16, 2007 at 11:19 am | Posted in America, democracy, government, politics, revolution, society | Leave a comment

Open:Source:Polity

I’m befuddled by those who insist they aren’t interested in politics. In my mind, this is equivalent to someone saying that they don’t like eating food or sex isn’t fun. What!? I’ll talk about politics with anyone — perhaps I’m too willing to talk about politics.

But this aside, I think that the current political climate and the conversations around certain issues is largely responsible for my ever-increasing interest in the long-term future of the American Republic.

Is America truly what we claim it to be? Are we a nation with a government that is for the people and by the people? But most of all, is government today getting the job done?

In the most general terms, I am disappointed and frustrated with the current state of affairs in America and throughout the world.

I do not believe that any one politician or person is capable of bringing about the changes that are necessary to once again make America a great nation.

In my eyes, our judicial, legislative, and executive branches of government have failed us and the future looks grim.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not prophesying the end of the world. In fact, I think America as it is could continue for at least a few hundred years more. I do, however, think that the future of America could be a lot different. The journey to a few hundred more years could be a lot different.

I think that the future of America belongs to the people. Let’s start at Open:Source:Polity.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

