musicthing

July 10, 2007 at 6:41 am | Posted in America, culture, entertainment, intellectual property, music | Leave a comment

Now this is the kind of stuff I like to see. I still haven’t written that post on intellectual property that I’ve been promising (verbally) to those who bother to listen to me, but this company/idea is the best step in the right direction that I’ve seen in quite some time.

www.musicthing.org

So what is it? musicthing promotes itself as the next generation recording label. It “opened” its doors for business on 7/4/07, surely to coincide with the spirit of Independence Day.

musicthing is a new kind of music company. We intend to develop a roster of artists much the same way a traditional record company does, but plan to make the music created by those artists available for free online.

I’m listening to their 1st artist, origami llamas, as I’m writing this post and it seems to be pretty good music. I think I’ll go ahead and download it. Ahem, did I mention that downloading their music was free? That’s right, musicthing thinks that music should be free! I agree! There are plenty of ways for music artists to make money – giving away their music just builds a fan base that will spend money on more profitable ventures like concerts, fan merchandise, radio cuts, music videos, and the like.

On second thought, I’m really enjoying this music…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

