Education Update

May 22, 2007 at 6:28 am | Posted in astronomy, education, extreme scattering, grant, physics, space | 2 Comments

So the semester ended a couple of weeks ago, and I think I have officially recovered. This past semester really sucked. I haven’t felt this lousy about school since highschool. I did OK though. The withdrawal from Physics didn’t help my GPA, but I passed Calculus, Film Criticism, and my second Humanities course. I’ll be taking Statistics over the summer.

Some other education news, I was awarded a research scholarship from the North Carolina Space Grant. How cool is that!? I’ll be researching extreme scattering events along with a faculty mentor. This should prove to be a great learning experience. I’ll definitely have a post describing what these events are all about (at least what we think they’re all about) and will blog about my progress.

Fall should be fun too. I’ve signed up for Intro to Computer Science, 3rd and final Humanities, Intro to Algorithm Design, Foundations of Management, and Accounting. I’ll probably end up dropping one of these courses before the semester starts to make room for my research, but I’m not sure which one yet.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. New gadgets and fashion are emerging every day, leading us to buy without rationally thinking trough if we really need that product or not. Thoughtless buying leads to the ingestion of all the natural resources and to the endless growth of garbage piles, thous killing our planet.
    If you think too, that this is a problem let’s do something about it. Let’s keep just one week, for starters, when we would think about if we really need the product we are about to buy, and if we don’t need it let’s put it back on the shelf. June 1-7. Spread the word.

    think.lydo.org

    Unplugged team

  2. […] also have a research project that I mentioned previously – extreme scattering events. All of this + work should keep me very busy…Here it […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

