Ubuntu Feisty Fawn: Missing Shutdown/Restart

April 28, 2007 at 2:08 pm | Posted in Feisty Fawn, Linux, restart, shutdown, technology, Ubuntu | 13 Comments

Just installed Ubuntu 7.04 on a spare laptop.  Everything worked great, except after two reboots my shutdown and restart buttons disappeared.  Here is the fix:

  1. From the top menu bar choose System
  2. Select the Administration menu option
  3. Then choose the Login Window menu option
  4. Enter your password when prompted
  5. Select the Local tab
  6. Check the box next to Show Actions Menu
  7. Make sure Include Host Names below it is checked as well

That’s it!  The Shutdown and Restart options will magically reappear!  Hope this helps…

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. AHA…I have been looking for an OS to put on a spare desktop I had. Ubuntu was my choice. I believe I heard them talking about it on TWiT. Curiously, I checked the setting you mentioned, and it seems to have defaulted to that on my installation.

  2. Thanks for that. I also just lost mine, mid tinker. So I thought I’d killed it.

  3. login window also missing..watt to do

  4. When you say your login window is missing, do you mean that it just boots right to the desktop? If so, then you’ll want to disable automatic login. To check this setting, go back to the “Login Preferences” window and click on the “Security” tab. If “Enable Automatic Login” is checked, then you’ll need to uncheck it. Hope this helps…

  5. THANK YOU. THAT HELPS.

  6. Thank you ++ … I was searching for this information around the world.
    I love UBUNTU!!!
    Ciao

  7. Great, it simply works. Thanks

  8. There is a reported bug, I added your proposed workaround to this:
    https://bugs.edge.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/152275

    I’d still like to know what caused this in the first place.

  9. Thanks man. I lost mine too, but your fix worked for me…thanks again.

  10. Thank you!

  11. Gahd man, you’re a life saver — thanks!

  12. Perfect! thx!!

  13. Thanks…This has really solved my problem. I did find other forums but none help except this. Now i dont have to use the reset(power) button anymore.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

