Review: “Stranger Than Fiction”

April 24, 2007 at 7:57 pm | Posted in movie, movies, Stranger Than Fiction, Will Ferrell, writing | Leave a comment

Stranger Than Fiction posterLet me just say, “What a great movie!” I was expecting this movie to be somewhere between Talladega Nights and Anchorman – that is, a silly comedy that would leave me in stitches but definitely forgettable. Boy was I caught off guard!

Imagine my surprise when especially hot Maggie Gyllenhaal raised my eyebrows as Will Ferrell’s love interest. She is really sexy in this film and frankly, her character seems like it is straight out of Asheville.

For me, Ferrell’s best film to date had been The Producers. Well, this film relegates The Producers to the “just comedy” category and ultimately raises Ferrell’s game (I’m going to expect more from him now that I know he is capable). I’m really starting to gain some respect for this guy – he is quite the actor!

The plot/storyline is incredible! It was one of those that I just couldn’t wait to find out what was going to happen at the end. Ironically, Will Ferrell couldn’t wait to find out what was going to happen in the end either. Dustin Hoffman was a nice surprise (I don’t recall seeing him in the trailers) and the chemistry between Ferrell and Gyllenhaal was, well, hot! Queen Latifah was wonderful in her supporting role as the publisher’s watchdog.

I was kind of worried about the ending at first (as was Hoffman). But the more I thought about it the more it seemed OK. I realized that I was, in some weird way, a part of it. The film can be interpreted in so many different ways. Whether it is who was part of who’s story and what role the viewer had or comedy vs. tragedy as it relates to the book, the movie, or life.

The comedy is not what you would expect for a Will Ferrell movie – less slapstick and more subtlety. It is the subtlety that makes it hilarious, however, sometimes I felt bad for laughing out loud since everyone on screen was so serious. Dustin Hoffman pouring coffee back in to the pot or sitting in his office with no shoes just tickled me all over.

Overall Stranger Than Fiction was the most brilliant film I have seen in some time. You must see this film! Check it out – you’ll be glad you did!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

