iGTD application by Bartek Bargiel

April 22, 2007 at 10:08 am | Posted in education, GTD, iGTD, Mac, MacBook, organization, OS X, productivity, technology | 1 Comment

If you’re a Mac user and you want to get things done, then this application is for you! I’ve been using it for a couple weeks now and I think I’m in love. Previously I was using the Kinkless GTD add-on for OmniOutliner, but iGTD is, by far, a much better implementation of David Allen’s GTD strategies. The guy who develops this application puts out updates like every couple of days, so there is always some new functionality waiting for you when you start it up. Here is a screenshot and some of my favorite features…

iGTD Screenshot

There’s my screenshot. You’ll notice that I only have a few contexts – just trying to keep things simple. The information context is a little out of place; this is used for lists that I want to keep track of but don’t necessarily require an action on my part. Fiscal year accomplishments is one example.

One great thing that this application does have that my Kinkless GTD couldn’t do was recurring tasks. These work just like the recurring tasks that you can setup in Microsoft Outlook, yet I am able to assign the tasks contexts and associate the tasks with specific projects.

The interface is very intuitive and easy to navigate (it’s not one of those complex applications that you spend a great deal of time looking for functionality). You can apply different flags to tasks, mark them as pending or waiting, link to outside files or web pages by clicking and dragging, assign tags (I haven’t found a use for tags yet), and append contact information.

If you’re a student, this application is a great way to stay organized and on top of things. I wasn’t using this at the beginning of the semester, but I was using Kinkless GTD and had the foresight to code my syllabus into both applications. When it’s time to do homework, I just click on the homework context and work through the associated tasks. I created a project for each course (i.e., one for Humanities, Calculus, etc.). You’ll find that this methodology is far more advantageous than looking through your 5-6 different notebooks for each class trying to figure out what’s due and what’s most important. New homework assignment not on the syllabus? Just add it to the Inbox or associate it directly with a project (class) and context. In the spirit of GTD, you’ll be able to focus on your actual homework by removing all the ToDo clutter from your mind.

Another great feature is that it has Quicksilver integration. You can open the Quicksilver application, press the [.] key and begin typing text, then just move to the action box by pressing tab and choose “Move to iGTD Inbox” (Quicksilver functionality does require a Quicksilver plugin). That’s it! You can learn a bunch of fancy syntax to associate contexts and projects, but I find that just getting the stuff into the Inbox is all I need. Then I can go back later and “process” my Inbox and think intelligently about what I want to do with the task (like set priority, deadline, notes, etc.).

Oh! Did I mention that it’s free? That’s right, it’s free! Free, free, free, free, free. If you like it, then you should donate some money to the guy that develops this (it’s only fair). He’s from Poland, works in IT, and this is his first application written in Cocoa specifically for the Mac. For a first application this guy has done a great job! So give it a try – you’ll be glad you did!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A Realistic $250K First Year Income Potential

    Less than four years ago I was driving this beat-up ’94 VW with a rusty muffler. Within two years of creating this system I was making more than my doctor, accountant, and attorney COMBINED… while working less than 40 hours a week FROM HOME! Together with my group of leaders we are now seeking qualified entrepeneurs sharein the incredible results of our system.

    for more information check this site out….

    make money online scams


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

