My Fav Podcasts

April 1, 2007 at 12:06 pm | Posted in astronomy, dance, healthcare, informatics, job, Linux, Mac, Microsoft, music, Office, organization, OS X, pharmacy, podcast, productivity, radio, TWiT, Vista | 3 Comments

This is a post that I have been wanting to do for a while now. I’ve listed my current podcast subscriptions with a little blurb about them and why I listen to them. It’s funny, I never listened to podcasts until about 6-8 months ago and now I don’t know what I would do without them. A lot of them I listen to in the car while in transit back and forth from work, school, and home. I’m still trying to master listening to them at work – the music ones are OK but the talk shows are hard to follow while working at the same time. I’m always looking for something new to listen to; if you happen to be reading this and know of something that may be interesting, post a comment and let me know.

  • 43 Folders (http://odeo.com/channel/34348/view) – This “was” a great podcast when Merlin Mann was releasing them fairly regularly. Now it seems that he has been working on his video podcasts (keep reading) and keeping up with a lot of the TWiT podcasts. If you are interested in productivity discussions, however, the archives contain some very valuable insights.
  • AMIA – American Medical Informatics Association (http://www.amia.org/podcasts/) – This is probably one of the most boring podcasts that I subscribe to, but I do get something of them. Basically, I listen to these to stay on top of my job responsibilities, that is, pharmacy informatics. They talk about a lot of the issues in healthcare today and how technology should or shouldn’t be used to resolve them. The audio is pretty poor and they seem to lack the leadership that would set the podcast off, but it is a good resource nonetheless if pharmacy informatics is your thing.
  • APM: A Prairie Home Companion’s News from Lake Wobegon (http://prairiehome.publicradio.org/about/podcast/) – Well I couldn’t say enough about Garrison Keillor’s program to do it justice. If you don’t have time to listen to the two hour show that airs Saturday evenings on NPR, then this podcast is for you. Usually runs between 15 and 20 minutes and is just the segment of the show “The News from Lake Wobegon”. If I’m particularly stressed, want a good laugh, or just want to hear his unique voice, I’ll listen and re-listen to these podcasts. Good stuff…
  • Astronomy Cast (http://www.astronomycast.com/) – This is one of my passionate hobbies – space and astronomy. Fraser Cain and Dr. Pamela Gay provide an incredible weekly podcast that wraps up the complexities of our universe into something that the rest of us can understand. Very informative and definitely should be on your list if astronomy is your thing.
  • Dance Department (http://www.radio538.nl/web/show/id=50258) – Now this is one of my favorite favorites. If you like dance music, then this is an absolute must-have podcast. Do you work out or exercise and are always looking for something upbeat to listen to while you inflict pain upon yourself? Then this is for you too. Dennis Ruyer knows his music and puts it all together in a tight one hour podcast complete with guest DJ’s and a signature closing “educative classic”. Dance Department lives up to its slogan, it truly is The Best Beats to Go.
  • Dave Matthias (http://www.djdavematthias.com/) – Another great dance podcast minus the narrative and commentary. This is all music and very well mixed. Also great for working out and exercising, this house music tends to have a lot more music with words than does Dance Department. I can’t figure out the frequency of the releases, but I’m always excited when a new one downloads on iTunes. Between an hour and and an hour and twenty minutes each, these make great background tunes for in the car, at work, or at the gym.
  • FLOSS Weekly (http://www.twit.tv/FLOSS) – With Leo Laporte and Chris DiBona, these just started up again after a 3-month hiatus. I haven’t listened to the archives of this podcast so I can’t vouch for its quality. The discussion is supposed to center around the latest tech news as it relates to open source software.
  • Linux Reality (http://www.linuxreality.com/) – First, Chess Griffin rocks! This podcast is off the chain for its organization, usefulness, quality, and reliability. Faithfully released almost every week for the last year, Chess provides useful information for the Linux newbie. Packed with tips, How-To’s, and generally informative Linux stuff, this podcast is great for anyone wanting to dabble in the Linux world. I do a little more than just dabble with Linux, but by no means do I consider myself an expert. But thanks to Linux Reality I’m able to pull off some neat tricks with Linux at home and on the job.
  • MacBreak (iPod Video) (http://www.twit.tv/mb) – I think the web page I’m linking to is not working, but it is the only link I can find (sorry). Anyways, this is part of the TWiT podcasts featuring Leo Laporte and various guests. This is a great resource for How-To’s related to the Mac. I’ve learned a couple Automater tricks here as well as some neat Quicksilver stuff thanks to guest Merlin Mann. If you’re a Mac-head, this one should be on your list.
  • MacBreak Weekly (http://www.twit.tv/mbw) – Yet another TWiT podcast with Leo Laporte, Merlin Mann, Scott Bourne, Andy Ihnatko, and Alex Lindsay. This is one of my favorite podcasts and not so much for its actual content. Really, this group of guys just has great chemistry and I enjoy listening to their banter and “rat-holes”. Their “picks of the week” have turned me on to some great Mac applications that I don’t know now how I could live without. Again, if you’re a Mac-head then this show is for you.
  • NPR: Car Talk’s Call of the Week (http://www.cartalk.com/content/calloftheweek/index.html) – Do I really need to introduce this one? If you’re into cars or just want a good laugh from two of the craziest guys on radio, then subscribe to this podcast. I wish they would release the whole show as a podcast, but for some reason they only do the call of the week. Either way, since I don’t listen to the radio anymore this is a great way for me to get a taste of “Click and Clack”.
  • The Linux Link Tech Show (http://tllts.info/) – Now I have to be straight-up, when I first subscribed to this I didn’t think this show was going to work for me. I like Linux and all, but this podcast is very long (usually runs over two hours) and is released weekly. I thought, “I’ll never be able to keep up with this”. But this is one of those shows that makes perfect background audio while I work. When I hear something interesting, I turn it up and focus. Allan, Dann, Pat, and Linc offer great knowledge and insight on Linux stuff and occasionally share their personal stories. They have various guests from the open source and Linux community. They cover a lot of ground, so there really is something for everyone. If you want to learn more about Linux or just keep up with what’s going on, this show is for you.
  • The Merlin Show (http://www.themerlinshow.com/) – Well, the productivity guru now has his own video podcast and it’s actually pretty decent. It’s great to actually see Merlin Mann, he is quite the personality. So far (the show just started) he has been doing a lot of guest interviews with conversations that center around productivity. He did one episode on some Quicksilver stuff that was very helpful. Honestly, part of me watches just because I like Merlin and the other part is because of the content. Check it out and decide for yourself.
  • The Official Streetlife DJs Podcast (http://www.myspace.com/sldjs) – Even though I hate to link you to a MySpace page, these guys are worth the virtual trip. Packed full of music, this hour podcast demonstrates fantastic mixing skills with great music selection. Perfect background tunes for the job, the car, and the gym.
  • This American Life (http://www.thisamericanlife.org/Radio_Podcast.aspx) – This is another no-brainer podcast that anyone who appreciates a quality radio show should have on their list. Let me also mention, if you haven’t seen their new TV show on Showtime then you should go check it out. The first episode is available for free on their website. I thoroughly enjoy the stories and appreciate that at least one radio show doesn’t force its listeners to turn on the radio. Thanks for stepping into the 21st century Ira Glass! Great show – keep it up!
  • This Week in Tech (http://www.twit.tv/TWiT) – Yet another great TWiT podcast (it’s the second to last one) that any techie should have on their list. Leo Laporte and friends offer commentary on the latest tech news and issues. No matter if it is your job or your hobby, this podcast is one way to stay on top of things and be the one telling your co-workers and friends about new stuff instead of them telling you.
  • Windows Weekly (http://www.twit.tv/ww) – Yes, unlike a lot of the geeks out there, I’m not a hater. I see the value and usefulness in every operating system – not just Linux and Mac. Leo Laporte and Paul Thurrott offer up great coverage and interesting commentary on the latest and greatest from Microsoft Windows. It is because of this show that I purchased a copy of Windows Vista and the new Microsoft Office 2007 and I’m glad I did. If you claim to be a techie, then the Windows OS should be on your resume because like it or not, it’s here to stay and skills in this arena are marketable. This show provides great information and lately, great interviews with actual Microsoft employees who offer insight into the software development process and strategic direction of the company. Good stuff…
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Slate magazine daily podcasts and Slate Explainer are both great. On the business side, if you have an interest in management Manager Tools podcast is a great listen as well.

  2. Thanks for the recommendations! A friend had suggested I might be interested in Manager Tools, so I’ve been listening to back episodes of that all week. I also subscribed to Shaw Project Management, Slate daily, and Slate Explainer. Pretty soon I might have enough for a whole new post! 🙂

  3. I’ve been enjoying your blog, it was recommended to me by a mutual friend. ffugio = P


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

