Changed my major

March 31, 2007 at 10:13 pm | Posted in education, job, Las Vegas, productivity, Twitter | Leave a comment

As I have alluded in my previous posts, it’s been crazy-making here lately. Up until about two weeks ago, I was just drowning – not even keeping my head above water.

The weekend after we got back from Vegas, I had to study for a physics exam that would be administered on Wednesday. It was on six chapters (6-12) and after our week in Vegas I was feeling good about my classes and was confident that I would be able study and do well on the exam. Well, I started studying at 12pm on Saturday (Chapter 6) and was still on the same chapter at 8pm that evening. This didn’t sit well with me, something had to give…

I put all my books away and shut off my computer. Things just weren’t working like they’re supposed to. I’m a smart guy and am definitely intelligent enough to know that 8 hours on one chapter was a bit too much – and I still didn’t feel like I knew the material any better.

Physics is hard as it is, but my professor compounded the complexity of the course via his inability to teach. But he is not solely to blame for my study troubles. I have mentioned my job before and still consider it a major factor with respect to input and overload. Learning a new job and pursuing a full-time education was definitely pushing the limits. Explaining to numerous people that I was pursuing a degree in physics and then having to justify my decision was also getting old. Further, I had no idea what I would do after I was finished with school except continue to follow the career path under development with my current employer. So what was I doing in physics?

Well having thought about all of this and more, I dropped the course. It was for the best and I instantaneously felt better about myself, my career, my life, my other courses…everything. And then I took it another step forward. I decided to change my major to Computer Science with a concentration in Information Systems. Let me say, I’ve never felt better! Last week and the week before were the most productive ever. It’s amazing what a little introspection can do for your attitude.

So I’m feeling much better. Joe and I are spending more time together. I’m getting to write posts to my blog again. I feel more confident on the job and definitely more productive. Not to mention that I feel like I have some direction with regards to my career. The decision to change my major is a perfect alignment with my actual job functions; I mean, it’s what I do!

Hopefully everyone will be hearing a lot more from me from now on. If you want to hear from me all day long, just check out my Twitter page at http://twitter.com/justevolvin.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

